Gajapati District has been named after Maharaja Sri Krushna Chandra Gajapati Narayan Deo, the Ex–Raja Sahib of Paralakhemundi estate (the 1st Prime Minister of Odisha State), who is remembered for his contribution in formation of a separate Odisha province and inclusion of Paralakhemundi estate in Odisha. It got a District status on 2nd October 1992 after bifurcated from Ganjam District. It was Parlakhemundi sub-division in Ganjam and yet it is only sub-division in Gajapati. There are 7 Tahasils, 7 Blocks, 1,534 Villages, 149 Gram Panchayats and 11 Police stations. The District is surrounded by Andhra Pardesh in its South, Ganjam District in its East, Rayagada in its West and Kandhamal in its North.

How to Reach

Flight Icon

The nearest airport is in Bhubaneswar Airport at a distance of 276 kms.

Train Icon

The nearest railway station is Brahmapur and Palasa.

Road Icon

You can easily get regular buses to Paralakhemundi from other major cities of Odisha.


Climatic condition in the Gajapati District varies between 16 degree to 40 degree Celsius and the normal rainfall received is 1403.30 mm. The soil and climate is suitable for plantation of crops and there is a great potential of horticulture development in the District.

Tourist Places

Enquiry Now

Sights you never wish to Miss