Jajpur District was formed by ‘JajatiKeshari’, the Somavanshi King in early 10th Century. The District takes its name from its head quarter town, Jajpur. The history of the Jajpur District from time immemorial is synonymous with the Biraja and BirajaKhetra. The Jajpur District came into being on 1st April 1993. Prior to that it was part of Cuttack District which divided into four Districts. The District is bounded by Keonjhar and Bhadrak Districts on its North, Cuttack on its South, Dhenkanal District on its East and Kendrapada District on its West.

How to Reach

Flight Icon

Nearest Airport is Bhubaneswar-120K.M

Train Icon

Nearest Railway Station is Jajpur Road-35K.M

Road Icon

From Bhubaneswar it is 120K.M on N.H-5


The climate of Jajpur District is normal as per Indian standards. All the seasons arrive in the District at their usual time. The District’s average height from the sea level is 331 mts and its average rain fall is 1014.5 mm. The average maximum and minimum temperatures are 38 degree C and 12 degree C respectively. Overall, the climate of the District is neither hotter nor cooler.

Tourist Places

Enquiry Now